hostchips.blogg.se

How to get word count in word document
How to get word count in word document








$word = New-Object -ComObject word.application “Counting Words in Word Docs in $folderPath” While listening to “Linus and Lucy,” also by Dave Brubeck, I wrote the CountWordsInWord.ps1 script seen here.

how to get word count in word document

The grass outside is damp from the evening’s rain, and patches of fog lounge on the lawn like deer near a stream in the deep woods. I bought both of these devices because they are cool! I also purchased the Scripting Wife’s Zune as well. It was not a gift, a bribe, or a prize for blogging about the device. Truth in Blogging notice to comply with recent USA FTC requirements: I purchased my Zune using my own money.

how to get word count in word document

I am listening to “Travelin’ Blues” by Dave Brubeck on my Zune. I am sipping a cup of English breakfast tea with a cinnamon stick in it and a bit of lemon grass. When writing the book, if my chapters are tending to be either too long or too short, my developmental editor will start to get excited.Ĭurrently, I am not too excited. This is used to determine estimated page count, which the book publisher can use as a guide for setting the cost of new book. In addition to being paid by the word, when I write a proposal for a new book project, I must supply an estimated word count for the new book. I have also been paid by the word for magazine articles, so your question is not something that is completely off the wall. A long time ago when I wrote for a newspaper, I was paid by the word. You know, contrary to popular belief, Scripting Guys are not paid by the word. It is a mess, and I do not want to waste several hours on this if I can help it. To make matters worse, the project folder also has Microsoft Excel files, Microsoft Project files, bitmap images, and assorted Notepad text files. The problem is this new project is a very large project with hundreds of document files.

how to get word count in word document

But when you are dealing with money, you do not mind taking a little extra effort. This was a time-consuming and tedious process. In the past, I used Explorer to open each file to get the word count of each Microsoft Word document. This is because the project is billable based upon the number of words. I need to know the number of words in all of those Word documents. Hey, Scripting Guy! I have a folder that contains a number of Microsoft Word documents that are all related to a specific project.










How to get word count in word document